Nigeria: Delta Queens Win 2012 Women’s League Super-Six

Delta Queens FC of Asaba were yesterday crowned the champions of the 2012 edition of the Nigerian Women League’s Super-Six Championship.

They walloped Rivers Angels of Port Harcourt 3-0 in the final match played at the Old Parade Ground, Abuja.

Iwuagwu Faustina scored the opening goal for Delta Queens in the 20th minute after Rivers Angels failed convert many scoring chances.

Ohale Osinachi also of Delta Queens heightened her team’s chances of winning in the 53rd minute from a free header as a result of a corner kick.

Faustina came back in the 63rd minute to seal her side’s victory, while Rivers Angels was not able to reply any of the goals.

In the third place match played at the same venue, Kogi Confluence Queens defeated Sunshine Queens 4-3 on penalties after a 90 minute draw.

The three best clubs were presented medals and certificates of participation after which the champions were handed the trophy.

The final match was graced by dignitaries in the football sector, including the President of the Nigeria Football Association (NFA), Aminu Maigari, and the General Secretary, Musa Amadu

Other dignitaries include NFA’s Director of Competitions, Sanusi Mohammed, Chairman of the Nigeria Premier League (NPL), Victor Baribote, Chairperson of the Nigeria Women League Board, Oyedinma Dilichukwu and other women league board members.