NDC Polls: Ewes are now ‘irrelevant’ to the course of NDC – CVM boss

General News of Tuesday, 20 November 2018

Source: Daniel Kaku


Razak Kojo Opoku, Founder and President of Concerned Voters Movement (CVM)

The Founder and President of Concerned Voters Movement (CVM), Razak Kojo Opoku has expressed worry over how the delegates of the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) voted against aspirants from Volta Region who contested for the key positions in the party’s national executive elections.

He opined that Ewes are now ‘irrelevant’ to the course of the NDC.

His comment comes after a defeated National Organiser aspirant, Anita De-soso, a Voltarian, said at the National Delegates’ Congress over the weekend at Trade Fair Center that the defeat of many Voltarian candidate who were aspiring to frontline positions meant that Ewes had been sidelined from the game.

Mr Samuel Ofosu Ampofo, an Akan, is now the newly-elected Chairman of the NDC after beating Dan Abodakpi, a Voltarian, and three other aspirants at the Congress.

For the two-man General Secretary race, Johnson Asiedu Nketia, an Akan, beat his former Deputy, Koku Anyidoho, a Voltarian. Sammy Gyamfi, also an Akan, beat Fred Agbenyo, a Voltarian, to become the new National Communication Officer.

The Volta Region is seen as the electoral ‘World Bank’ of the NDC.

CVM boss, Kojo Opoku indicated that “the notion of Ewes being the strong and always at the top hierarchy have been rendered irrelevant. By voting against them they have been made lightweight and unimportant in the National leadership of the NDC”.

He said “The delegates of the National Democratic Congress(NDC) at the 9th National Delegates Congress of the Party have decided overwhelmingly to remove all Ewes from the top National Leadership Position of the Party”.

He added “Ewes use to dominate the key executive positions of the party especially at the National leadership”.

He revealed “The convention of NDC has been that, delegates have consistently been voting for Ewes to occupy the top national positions of the Party such as Leader/National Chairman, Deputy General Secretaries, National Organizers, National Women Organizers, National Youth Organizer and National Communication Officers of the Party since 1992”.

He explained “Dr. Obed Asamoah, Dr. Kwabena Adjei, Kofi Portuphy and Chairman Rawlings all from the Ewe tribe were the ones who used to be the Leader/Chairman of NDC since 1992”.

He added “Also Kofi Adams, Koku Anyidoho, Anita Desoso, Ludwig Hlodze etc were the ones occupying top national positions in the NDC”.

He worried “For the first since the formation of PNDC/NDC, all Ewes who contested for key substantive national leadership positions in the NDC have been voted against at the Party’s 9th National Delegates Congress”.

“Ewes wiped out from the top hierarchy of NDC”, he said.

Commenting on the seven Voltarians who were elected as deputies, Razak Kojo Opoku described them as errand boys and ‘refuges’.

“They are all Voltarians serving as refuges and errand servants at the FEC of NDC”, he opined.

“The fact of the matter is, there is no Voltarian, the stronghold of the NDC occupying a substantive National position in the NDC”, he maintained.

He revealed “According to a leaked memo from the Office of John Mahama, no voltarian should be voted into a Substantive National Executive Position in the NDC pursuance to the recommendations of Prof. Kwesi Botchwey Report as captured on page 309”.

He added “Voltarians Demoted to Errands Boys and Girls in NDC”.

The following are the Voltarians in the National Executives of NDC:

1. Eric Edem Agbana – Dep Youth Organiser

2. Ruth Seddoh – Dep Youth Organiser

3. Kobby Barlon – Dep Organiser

4. Agbleke William Wilson – NEC member

5. Godwin Gunn – Dep Communication Officer

6. Evelyn Kenyon Mensah – NEC member

7. Elorm Abigail, Deputy Women Organiser National.

قالب وردپرس