Chief rallies support for creation of new regions

By Dennis Peprah/Sarah Ankamah-Yeboah,

Sunyani, Sept. 14, GNA – Pimampim Yaw Kagbrese
V, the President of the Brong-Ahafo Regional House of Chiefs (BARHCs) on
Wednesday entreated Ghanaians to develop interest and support to make the
proposed creation of the additional regions a reality.

He reminded that the creation of the new
regions was a constitutional requirement and indispensable panacea for
perennial under-development, hence the need for the citizenry to join the
campaign to woo more eligible voters to participate in the impending referendum
scheduled for December 27, this year.

The creation of the regions, according to
provisions in chapter two of the 1992 constitution requires a referendum that
demands at least 80 percent of residents in the affected region(s) to approve
of the split.   

It is expected that 50 per cent eligible
voters would come out to vote, and 80 percent of them must approve the demand
for the creation of the region during the referendum.

regions expected to be divided include; the Northern, Western, Volta and

But, addressing the members of the Regional
House of Chiefs at its 2018 Second General Meeting in Sunyani, Pimampim
Kagbrese V, said President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo had done his part, and
it was left with Ghanaians to support the education on the referendum to meet
the constitutional requirement.

He commended the Commission of Inquiry set up
by the President to facilitate the creation process for diligent work, and
appealed to the media, especially the electronic ones to intensify the campaign
on the referendum.

Pimampim Kagbrese V, who is the Paramount
Chief of Yeji Traditional Area in the Pru East District noted that both the
Ahafo and Bono East deserved the split, and advised the traditional rulers to
double their efforts in educating their subjects on the need for them to vote
“yes” to pave the way for the creation of the regions in the supreme interest
of the nation.

The House later installed Mr Evans
Opoku-Bobie, the Brong-Ahafo Regional Minister- designate as the 51st chief and
member and also sworn and admitted Daasebre Dr Amankona Diawuo II, the
Paramount Chief of Berekum Traditional Area as member.

Mr. Opoku-Bobie who is the Member of
Parliament for Asunafo South Constituency thanked the chiefs for the honour and
assured that the Regional Coordinating Council would continue to collaborate
with the House to facilitate accelerated national development.


قالب وردپرس